Students in Mr. Ravenscroft's class at Daleville Jr/Sr High School designed and built bamboo skyscrapers to withhold weight, wind, and earthquake element tests.

Apply for a Bell Grant!

Teachers often have instructional ideas they would like to implement in their classrooms. Sometimes, a lack of funds can prevent them from moving forward. The Robert P. Bell Education Grants are awarded to teachers with innovative ideas, programs, or projects that are related to a classroom unit or lesson. Grants range in size from $50 to $600 and support projects that are designed to stimulate learning in students. 

Grant Procedures:

  • Grants are available to K-12 teachers, counselors, special needs teachers and itinerant teachers working in schools in Delaware County. 
  • Grants are awarded from $50-$600. Recommendations for partial funding may be made.
  • Applications are submitted in the online grants system. New users to the online grants system will have to create a new user account. Step-by-step instructions can be found here. 
  • Applicants must use the Bell Grant Budget Template provided with the application.
  • Applications should not contain any identifying information in the Project Description section of the application. Use the Co-Applicants field to include information about additional applicants.
  • Applications are reviewed anonymously by a committee of teachers appointed by superintendents. The committee makes recommendations to the Board of Directors for final approval.
  • If awarded, grant money is sent directly to the applicant's school system within 30 days of the deadline. Teachers will need to follow their school system's procedures for purchases or reimbursements. 
  • A flyer for the program is available here.
What Qualifies?

Creative and innovative projects can be focused in any subject area. While preference is given to projects implemented during the regular school day, extracurricular projects will be considered if they are curriculum-based. Requests must be clearly linked to a specific classroom unit or lesson.

Bell Grants are not eligible for religious-based projects, transportation fees, field trip fees, and speaker fees. Grants will not be awarded for projects that are already started or completed. Typically, Bell Grants are not awarded to purchase book sets, videos, kits, and classroom equipment unless those items are integral to a classroom lesson.

Who can apply?

Kindergarten through 12th grade teachers and counselors working in Delaware County schools including special education teachers, itinerant teachers, and counselors are eligible to apply. Teachers must be working in accredited in public schools, nationally recognized accredited private schools, or charter schools in good standing to be eligible for grants. Small groups of teachers may submit one application for joint projects, but group applications are subject to the $600 limit.

How to apply?

Applications are submitted in the online grants system. Applicants that are new to the system will have to create an account using these instructions. Application deadlines are September 1, November 1, February 1, and April 1. Applications are due by 11:59 PM on the day of the deadlines. Teachers may submit applications in the April cycle for projects beginning in the following academic year.

There is no limit on the number of applications a teacher can may submit in each grant cycle or in a year. A separate application should be submitted for each project. Applicants should account for approximately 30 or more days between deadline and start of project to account for administration.

Requests are reviewed anonymously by a committee of teachers representing each school district in Delaware County. Therefore, applications should not include any identifying information in the Project Description section.

A detailed project budget is required for each application. A budget template is provided with the online application.

Apply online

French artist Henri Rosseau inspired North View Elementary students to create a jungle themed art installation with glow in the dark materials.

What happens next?

Applicants are notified of decisions no later than 21 days after the deadline. If awarded, grant money is sent directly to the applicant’s school system within 30 days of the deadline. Teachers will need to follow their school system’s procedures for purchases or reimbursements. A post grant report is required once the project is completed.

High school students at Muncie Central built and maintained their own terraniums with support from a Bell Grant.

A committee composed of one teacher from each of the following school corporations has been formed to establish the guidelines for applications, review proposals, and make Bell Grant Awards.

The following teachers were appointed by their superintendents to serve on the Robert P. Bell Education Committee.

  • Felicia Gray, Burris Laboratory School

  • Courtney Crabtree, Cowan Community Schools

  • Melanie Wright, Daleville Community Schools

  • Lisa Brand, Delaware Community Schools

  • TBD, Indiana Academy

  • Erin Wilson, Liberty-Perry Community Schools

  • Devon Barbosa, Muncie Community Schools

  • Joan McKinley, St. Michael's Catholic School

  • Mason Fulton, Wes-Del Community Schools

  • Kacie Hall, Yorktown Community Schools

Questions about a Bell Grant? Contact your district's representative! They are a great resource for information about the process and how to best craft your application.

Deadlines are quarterly through the academic year. Applicants should take into consideration the following dates when planning for their projects.

Deadline: September 1; Applicants notified: September 20, 2022

Deadline: November 1; Applicants notified: November 22, 2022

Deadline: February 1; Applicants notified: February 21, 2023

Deadline: April 1; Applicants notified: April 18, 2023

Contact: Program Officer

The Foundation operates without discrimination as to age, race, religion, gender, national origin, sexual orientation, disability or that perceived as a disability in the consideration of grant requests. Likewise, the Foundation does not knowingly support programs that negatively discriminate based on the aforementioned factors.

Contact Us

We're all about serving the community, so we welcome input from the community. Tell us about a need, ask how to get involved, or just let us know what you think of our website. We look forward to hearing from you.