Grace Huisman, a senior at Yorktown High School, is a recipient of the Robbin S. Lindsey Memorial Scholarship, the Robert and Wanda McKibben Scholarship, and the Dr. William J. and Thelma V. McNabney Memorial Scholarship. Grace plans to study exercise science at Trine. She is the daughter of Leo and Jennifer Huisman.

Robbin S. Lindsey Memorial Scholarship

In October of 1999, Robbin S. Lindsey, an original founder and long-time supporter of Yorktown Swim Club, was tragically killed in an automobile accident while returning home from a USS swim meet. At the time of her death, Robbin was head coach of the Yorktown Swim Club, as well as the head coach of both the boys’ and girls’ varsity swim teams at Yorktown High School. The establishment of the Yorktown Swim Club scholarship was a long-time dream of Robbin’s. In honor of Robbin’s many contributions to the swimming tradition at Yorktown High School, this scholarship has been named the Robbin S. Lindsey Memorial Scholarship. This award is for tuition, books, fees, and any other costs normally incurred at an accredited post-secondary educational institution.

Robert and Wanda McKibben Scholarship

The Robert and Wanda McKibben Scholarship was created by Robert McKibben in memory of his wife and their life together. During his life, he planned for the establishment of the scholarship fund and established the criteria, which would be realized through his estate plan. Because of his planned gift, Mr. McKibben was a recognized member of The Community Foundation’s Legacy Society.

Robert and Wanda McKibben were both raised in Yorktown and graduated from Yorktown schools. They raised a family in the same area. “My parents were very active in their support of Yorktown sports, particularly high school basketball. So, my father directed that primary consideration be given to student athletes,” said Jeffrey McKibben, son of Robert and Wanda McKibben. “In addition, it was important that the prospective student distinguishes themselves by their involvement in giving of their time and/or abilities to the Yorktown community.”

In 2019, this scholarship became a four-year award that supports the recipient through four years of undergraduate study.

Dr. William J. and Thelma V. McNabney Memorial Scholarship

This four-year scholarship is awarded to a college-bound senior from an accredited high school in Delaware County. Each high school in Delaware County nominates one finalist to be reviewed by the Foundation's scholarship committee.

Grace Huisman